How to target non-selected objects in the scene?

I know I can use:

for obj in bpy.context.selected_objects:

to target the selected objects in a scene.

I have a silly question: how do I fire an event where when the user clicks (selects) on an object or adds to the current selection of objects, the script alters the properties of any unselected object in the 3d view? I have little experience with Python in Blender, and can’t seem to figure that out.

There maybe a smarter way to do this but it seemed to work, this makes a list from all selectable objects in the scene, and a list of your selected objects, then pops whatevers in the selected list from the selectable list

import bpy

nonSelectList = bpy.context.selectable_objects
selectList = bpy.context.selected_objects

for obj in selectList:
nonSelectList.pop(nonSelectList.index(obj))

for obj in nonSelectList:
print(obj.name)
// your code on non selected objects here

edit: the other part of you question, how to have python fire an event when you select an object, I’m not really how to do this yet either.
edit2: edited the code in my example, realized it had the wrong list in the pop method, it would work sometimes but not every times

Thanks for your response! I have a lot of experience with web coding, and know my way around Python for Web projects, but for some reason I am a bit lost in how to start coding stuff in Blender. The documentation is a bit confusing to me.

I guess I will have to dig some more to see if I can find the info I need, or examine someone else’s addons.

I am not sure if there is an event generated for selecting objects but you could setup a timer and poll the selection state of all objects.

If you have not checked out the Tempates menu of the Text Editor window, give it a look. There are a lot of working examples. One might fit your needs.

You can address any object by name without using the context at all.

name = "Cube"
ob = bpy.data.objects.get(name)
if ob != None: