How to understand if you're ready for a freelance?

Next year I’m planning to end school and go to university, so I’m probably gonna live on my own, need a new laptop etc. So I recently started thinking about monetizing my favourite hobby. I imagine that freelance is the thing you’re not allowed to touch until you’re an advanced 3D modeler, but how advanced you should be? I’ve been modeling for 1,5 years mainly everyday items and furniture (I know, very poor choice of a starting area), organic and car modeling turned out to be a nightmare to me. And I’m kinda afraid to take my first assignment, what if I fail? Would it ruin my reputation on a site?
And how customers usually react to the incorrect grammar? I’ve never seen people discussing it, but as a non-native speaker I’m a bit concerned

If someone likes your work and is willing to pay you, then you’re good enough to freelance.

1 Like

Pretty much this. Just charge relative to your experience. No matter how n00b you are, there’s someone out there who doesn’t have the budget for an artist that’s more skilled than you are.

1 Like

Regarding your final point: If you hadn’t said that English wasn’t your native language I’m not sure I would have guessed. The only giveaway maybe is typing 1,5 instead of 1.5 - Your actual English grammar is fine. Don’t let that concern you.

1 Like

You will have to break your plan into three stages. And you will have to spend significant amount of time in each one. 1 Stage if the worst but is unavoidable to get warmed up and get tuned into working with customers - communicating and interacting are more important that getting paid. However stage 1 won’t get you somewhere you will have to study there and switch to stage 2. By the time you get to stage 2 you will have certain portfolio and certain contact list, chances are that you might have acquired lots of skills and experience and achieved a steady flow of income (best case scenario).