How was your modeling skill progress, is there a modeling skill curve?

I’ve been an 3d enthusiast since the late 90’s my first attempts of 3d were made in 3dstudio3 for ms2, but frankly i never quite try it, i bought books, an i read lots off tutorials but never actually modeled anything, a couple of figures, i think my problem was to try the hardest things up front and then i got frustrated.

So my cuestion is how was your modeling progress, what kind of thing model first to develop the skill? and then what? how common is to star whit faces and bodys? any tips? im familiar whit the basic tecniques extruding and subsurfing, or sculping and retopo but not the practice.

Well i am still learning but i think the most important thing i learned is topology.

I think one of the simplest tests of topology is to model a plate,coffee mug,fork,spoon and finally a knife.Each of them employs different topology flows which should give you the feel to model things further down the line.

Basically you just move on to more complex from there on out until you can model most shapes.

It’s good to learn the theory by reading tutorials, but it’s immensely better to follow those tutorials by working on them in Blender.
Because even if you’re beginner in modelling, practicing again and again, asking questions where you’re stuck, etc… will teach you a lot and progressively you’ll find yourself able to model anything.

I think a very good tutorial to start with is the part 1 of this :

It’s a really well done one, clearly explained and illustrated textual+screenshot tutorial that is very accessible to modelling beginners, so if you want to really practice modelling, going to read it -and- practicing it in Blender while reading is a very good idea.

I learned hard way, tried to model like animators want their models, that all parts have to be connected to somewhere, one mesh.