howto import images (e.g. png or jpg) as 2d object

Hi everyone,
I would really like to import image files into blender as 2d objects.
How is this done? :confused:

Thanks
river

well the easy way to do that is to switch to side view (numpad 3) load the image as a background image, then trace the contors with CTRL and mouse click to add verticies…

not sure of anyother way…

I’m new to blender but there is a another way. Add the image as a texture. Add a plane in object mode, with the plane selected go to the material panel and ad new material. Then click on the texture icon and click add new. Choose Image as texture type then click on load image.
Brouse for the image you want to use, select it and that should be it.
However you won’t be able to see the image until rendering, unles there is a way to view textures on objects before you render that I don’t know of yet.
Hope this is what you’r after, Good luck.

Thank you very much. I have used Chinley’s method. I was unable to load the image as a background for the Highcommander method.
Does the Hc method allow the image to be seen without rendering?
: )

Yes it does.

Yes, but only in the particular viewport, and only if you select orthographic. If you select perspective, or if you rotate the view (ie: switch to user defined view) the background image will disappear. When you go back to one of the Numpad or Ctrl-Numpad 1,3,7 Views (Front, Side, Top) the background image will appear again. The background image is also visible in camera view, if you select Global, but not if you select Local. Background images loaded this way will not show up in renders.

Highcommander’s method is used when you want the image as a reference to make a model, Chinley’s method is used when you want an image in your scene, for example, you’re modeling a living room, and you want paintings on the walls.

As Orinoco said background images are used as a reference guide or to trace around but wont be visible when rendering.