human unwrapping problem

hey all, i’m a noob at unwrapping, having never done it before. sorry for those who look at this, see the problem as something too simple (it may be for all i know) and laugh at my noobness XD but here we go.

unwrapping my model for the first time and made seams following a tutorial on blender cookie. however, unlike the tutorial, my unwrapped…odd. individually, everything looks fine. when the entire body is unwrapped, however, the hands and feet and super teeny and the body is very large. if anyone knows what i did wrong, let me know because i think the seams might be ok aside from maybe some minor adjustments. i’ve included some screen shots…

Attachments

Can’t clearly see the seams, but I think you should separate (cut with seams) hands and feet completely and unwrap again.
You can stitch everything together afterwards. Not an ideal workflow, I know.

ok i tried that and everything looks fine till i saw that one of the feet is effed up. i screen shot it so you can see what i’m talking about. still scratching my head on why that one foot is messed up looking and the other is fine when they’re cut the exact same way.

Attachments

Maybe “constrain to image bounds” is active?

appears to be off. that’s under the “UVs” option panel right?

Yep. Hm… weird, are you positive it has exactly the same seam cuts as the other hand?
Try to select the hand only and unwrap again. In worst case, you can delete the wrong unwrapped hand mesh, then mirror the good one, weld it, and separate and mirror its UVs.

well i double checked the feet and by themselves, they unwrap just fine. it’s only when it’s unwrapped with the rest of the body that it messes up like this. should i just unwrap the feet separate from the rest of the body? it’s not how i wanted it, but i may not have much choice.

http://bgdm.katorlegaz.com/lscm_tute/lscm_tute.htm

Check out this tutorial, and carefully watch how the seams are placed. Seams are everything when unwrapping.