I hoped to be able to use a rig but I'm lost - T-Rex for a 10 secs shot

Hi guys,

I have this editing project I’m working on. The script calls for a T-rex chasing some people in one shot. I’m not a VFX or animation person.
I said I’d do my best to make this shot a reality.

Here’s the shot in question (not graded and poor compression).
http://www.filedropper.com/platetrek

Looking for a way to do this, I found this guy offering some rigs he made for blender.
http://agmlabs.com/

Having played with Cinema4D in the past, I thought it would be quite simple to do with a rig and a walk/runs cycle.
But Blender is an architecture/UI very unfamiliar to me.

I need to deliver something on Tuesday… (yes ouch)
I’ve hit a wall and any form of help, ideas, solutions would be welcomed.

Hope to hear from you!!!

By Tuesday, you mean tomorrow ?

If yes, I can not help you, sorry. If next Tuesday, you got a lot of work to do.
I’m a beginner too so others might have better proposals.

1. I’d say for a start, go read this tutorial here:
    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Blender_3D:_Noob_to_Pro
    up until section 2 -> Using bones.
    Definitely do this until you are able for basic controls, e.g. move things around, understand the materials and textures buttons, use B, R, G, S, Tab, Ctl-Click keys automatically, etc (those are used to select/move/rotate/ scale the whole model or parts of it when we edit it). Space brings up a menu to create new things. Tab switches to edit mode. Perhaps you will not require to edit meshes for this project though…

2. I don’t think it is easy to find a .blend rigged free dinosaur in the Internet.
    But what you can do is find a .3ds model, import him, and put bones and textures
    on him anew. There are threads here about importing .3ds models (you basically need
    to remove double vertices, and some other things that I don’t remember). Bones should
    be quite easy in theory, if you have done the tutorial above.