I need some tips

Hello, I’m a python programmer. Recently I had the opportunity to start to work on my own. A friends of mine asked me for a favor, they work with 3DS doing some kind of 3d representations of buildings (before they are built) (I’m not an English speaker, I don’t know how to say it correctly, sorry). They asked me to make the programming part of a scene,to be able to walk in the building and this kind of stuff. I’d like to do it because I need customers for the business, and I’m really interested, I think that with python and blender wouldn’t be very difficult but I don’t know.
I have been searching for information about soya3d and other 3d engines. Yesterday I was able to run a little program to walk in a house, very simple, but I found a few problems and I prefer do it using GE instead.
I told my friends to learn Blender, but they are a bit reluctant because of the time they will spend learning, so what we are doing is import the max file into a blender file.
1-) Which is the best way to do it? They told me that we would have problems with textures and materials, is it true?
2-)I’d like to know if I can do what I want only using Blender (walk in the scene, go upstairs, interact with some simple objects like doors…) with a good representation quality or if I need to use a game engine like soya to do it. If it is possible and someone could pass me a good tutorial it would be great.

P.S. Could you please tell me how is called in English the person who works in graphic computer :slight_smile: ? In Spanish is infografista, and what they do with the buildings is a “infografia” but I have no idea in English.

Thank you very much for everything.