I spilled Dihydrogen monoxide all over myself

Today in Chem lab I got this stuff (dihydrogen monoxide) all over me and got out without telling the TA. I don’t really want to go to the hospital, because that’s expensive and I’m only a college student.

What do you guys think I should do? Will I be OK?

EDIT:
Holy crap, I don’t think cellulose will do anything about it, I just found this: http://www.dhmo.org/facts.html

Just wipe it off with a man-made composite based primarly on cellulose. :wink:

Martin

Just make sure that you don’t try to dilute it with water.

What will happen? It was thrown on my back and I didn’t notice, some jerk thought it would be funny… the part of my skin that was touching my shirt looks like it’s starting to rash. My shirt is soaking in a bucket of water, I thought it would soak it up… if it reacts, what does it make?

Diluting it just increases the natural properties. The website didn’t mention it, but it is the cause of a significant number of deaths each year. It is also a universal solvent. Containers of the stuff have to be labelled with a shelf life because it has a nasty tendency to dissolve the container – any container.

I don’t think there is any hope for you. You are already too far gone.

As a Chemistry major, I’d like to say…

I’M SO PROUD OF YOU GUYS!!! :smiley:

We really are the additive inverse of stupid :smiley:

Martin

yah, can you beleive farmers actually put this stuff ON THE CROPS YOU EAT! :o
Theyve tried to get the government to ban it, but with no avail. :expressionless:

I think you should definately call the doctor. Stupid to take any risks you know. I heard once from my chemistry teacher of a case where a student got some of the chemicals on himself and didn’t want to talk to the teacher since the teacher had said before that it were important NOT to spill it. And he were afraid of getting lower grades if the teacher would know that he did.