I still cant model organic things!

I have been using blender on and off for the past… 5 years or so… every time I have tried in the past to model a human or plant it just fails really bad. So the only games or renders I have made have been based on the main character being a cube or sphere. Or I just avoid organic settings all together… are there some tips or some really good tutorials out there that you guys have found?

You could try the skin modifier - it’s pretty good for laying down a quick framework for an organic character. Blender recently also got a dynamic sculpting addition, which should help things out if you’re better with sculpting.

Neither can I, but that doesn’t stop me having fun. Find things that you can model.

For me: Spaceships and caves!

Landscapes are easy with the plugin, so you only have to worry about the layout.

It doesn’t matter what you can and can’t do, so long as you can do something, and stick with it.
Sometimes it’s better to abandon trying to learn a certain skill, particularly if it’s just a hobby.

Tutorials are important to learn technical stuff. But to learn organic modeling you should learn a little-bit of anatomy, even if you do non-realistic stuff, and practice a lot. Use reference and try to understand what is wrong and why it is, in your mesh.

From the technical point of view: i first start with a rought sclupt to set basic forms and proportions (use skin modifier to start and than add details). Than i do a retopo of it and i obtain the base mesh. Than i resculpt the basic mesh for details ecc. If needed i tweak the base mesh.

Try poly by poly. Look at the Joan of Arc tutorial at 3dtotal.

*** Moderation ***
moved from: Game Engine Support and Discussion
reason: belongs to modelling
*** End of Moderation ***

see this site, thalk about 2D , but you can found a lot of things very interesting , i found it awesome
http://www.dragoart.com/tuts/4774/1/1/how-to-draw-realistic-people.htm