I want to animate a hand that grabs something that falls on it and throw it away

Hey

I’m a newbie and I’m making my first animation, so I created a weight dumbbell that falls from the ceiling on a fruit bowl but I want one of the fruits for example the pear grabs the dumbbell and throw it away,

I’ve created all the shapes and objects, rigs for the pear hands and gravity for the dumbbell but I ran into a problem, when I want to keyframe dumbbell at the right time before it falls on the pear no matter what blender won’t let me transform the dumbbell so I add keyframes on it to make it look like it’s being thrown away.

My macbook crashed while doing it though.

whats the problem and what you guys suggesting me to do?

Here’s a few different methods:

3 Likes

You might also use the old-fashioned film editing technique of a jump cut. This is a carefully-placed edit that you probably won’t notice, but it means that the two-or-more shots which appear to depict a single action are actually distinct. This can also be used to “tighten” the action: once the audience understands what is taking place, you might not wish to actually depict the entire thing.

The dumbbell begins to fall … CUT TO REVERSE ANGLE … showing the dumbbell approaching the bowl (so you know where it’s going) … CUT TO the dumbbell grabs it … CUT TO EXTREME CLOSE-UP showing facial reaction … CUT TO beginning of a throw … CUT TO the dumbbell flies away.

In this example, six shots, some of them a fraction of a second long, to depict one continuous action.