I want to create 2D looking anime characters, how do I go about doing it?

Hey,

sorry I wasn’t sure where to post this.

I’m new to blender but I have used it before.

I want to create a model like these here:

Supposedly this was made in blender, it’s interactive so you can rotate around it. How did they make it look so much like 2D? Is there any tutorials anywhere?

http://www.3dcg-arts.net/art/132

Here are some other ones, but their made in other programs.

maya
http://www.3dcg-arts.net/art/4458

XSI
http://www.3dcg-arts.net/art/5059
(this one has a unity3d demo)

This is a very stylized and specific look, I can’t find any english tutorials on how to make something like this from start to finish. I’m guessing alot of it might have to do with the texturing side rather then the modeling, but I’m not sure.

I want this look for a game project I’m planning, can anyone give me any advice or tips on how to achieve this here?

What I can tell you is that its using a “toon” shader, which basicly detects the edges of the mesh parts and adds that black outline in, making it look like its drawn with inked outlines. that, in combination with great painted textures. Unfortunately, its a topic i dont have much experience in myself, as i haven’t had time to mess with it much. but i will be watching this thread very closely to see if anyone knows of a tutorial or a method to do this properly without it looking funky. (and hope the technique translates to unity, haha)

Hey, thanks for also being interested!

check out this 2D drawing I just found.

jk it’s 3D!

check out the expressions

I so want to make something like that, I wonder if it’s possible in blender here.

anything in 3d should be possible in blender. the limitation will be in the rendering/shading, it would have to be an extremely good 2d shader, its probably written for the purpose of anime production. i would LOVE to put characters like that in a game. haha