I Want to Learn Python Scripting

I’ve been wanting to learn Python game scripting for a while now, but where do I learn how?

Here are some Video tutorials,

Agoose has just started a Python training series, here.
BlenderCookie has one for beginners as well, here.

These are for the GameEngine though.
Heres one I found thats not GE related, hope I helped.

Okay, that’s a start. Thanks.

All you actually need is right at the snakes nest:
http://wiki.python.org/moin/BeginnersGuide

Like I said, I only want to learn Python for the BGE. Thanks for the links.

Which means you have to learn Python.
And then you got to familiarize yourself with the BGE API.
Just to make sure, you’re not going there under the false impressions… there is no such thing as “BGE Python”. There´s Python and you can use it to go bananas in Blender.

Yeah, I know. The only reason I want to learn Python is for the Blender game engine, I’m saying.

I am a teacher who often does volunteer lessons for students, I would like to extend an offer to help. I’ve taught Python scripting to many computer graphics and game art students in post secondary.

I’ve also done a bunch of coding with Blender’s game engine in Python, so I have some experience there.

My website has a section about Python here: http://www.teaching3d.com/c/index.php/tutorials-and-articles/python-for-newbies/

I unfortunately don’t check these forums too often, but if you email me I can definitely help. Contact info is available on my website.

In terms of learning, here is my advice:

• Learn the basics of python by writing some simple scripts and doing some simple exercises. Make sure you understand the concepts. Ask questions to me or someone else whenever you don’t clearly understand something.
  • Apply these basics to make Blender so simple things
  • Make an ultra simple game using blender and python. We’re talk simple like “Pong” for you first project.