If your math teacher did a Blender unit....

…how would you want him/her to do it?

I’m a teacher at a US independent high school. What’s the most a high school kid could get out of a few hours of blender?

Some aspects of Blender are right out of our Geometry textbook: points/verts, edges/segments, faces, n-gons… but some aspects like setting up the windows and the interface may frustrate kids before they get to the fun stuff.

Right now I use it as a demo tool with a projector. Do you think it’s possible for high school kids to tackle using it themselves and have fun while doing it?

R

I’m twelve and i’ve been using blender for several years (a while before I joined elysiun) and I have no problems understanding it and certainly enjoy it :smiley: … but then again i’m not your average 12 year old so the main reaction you get might be different. But I wish you taught at my school :stuck_out_tongue: I have on occasion found my knowledge of blender quite useful during maths lessons.

Oh yeah, they’ll problably get it, I started at 11 no problem. But instead of going stright ot the lesson see if you can’t devote 2 minutes to the use of the 3d window. do a basic “blender for dummies” tutorial on scaling, rotating, etc. they problably won’t need materials or particle systems from what you described, but so long as you have 3 button mouses and explain a good deal about basic modelling, then they should pick it up pretty quick. (Of course every class i’ve been in has the stupid-as-all-hell popular/girl boy (not to sterotype popular kids, but there are some that cant put two and two together for their lives) who’ll never get it unless you give him/her a lesson on blender aimed at three year olds.)

And if you didn’t want to waste valuable teaching time having them set up their default view, you could just save your default .blend to a disk and copy it to their computers. Just an idea.