I'm so proud...

Hi guys :slight_smile:

I’m a complete newbie and am slowly working my way through the tutorials. Finding this quite hard because Blender 2.40 seems to be quite drastically different from the version(s) the tutorials were written with. (Took me 2 days to find the SubSurf command!!! ARGHHH !)

But having just completed the Octopuss model tutorial I wanted to share my minor additions to it, because I’m just so proud of myself :smiley:

Please do C&C it, I want to make a whole little Nemo scene :slight_smile: But if you could explain How / Where to implement any suggestions, rather than just ‘Add a radiosity whizzbanger with Zbuffer overcast’ that would be muchly appreciated - otherwise I won’t know how to do anything you suggest !!

PS. Since this render I’ve done the SetSmooth command and increased SubSurf to render at 3 Levels, so it’s all looking a lot smoother.

Many thanks :slight_smile:

http://photobucket.com/albums/f133/esvcv/oct.jpg

I can’t see the picture.

sorry about that, not sure what’s going on, but a direct link to the Pic is at:

http://www32.brinkster.com/esvcv001/photos/oct.jpg

Hmmmmm…

HTTP1.1 STATUS 403 Remote Access to this object forbidden This file cannot be directly accessed from a remote site, but must be linked through the Brinkster Member’s site.

Try www.imageshack.us or www.photobucket.com - you seem to be having problems!

thanks, i’ll try one of those two… but if you copy the link and paste it into a web browser directly i think that might work :frowning:

Oh yeah! (Durrr! :smiley: )
Sorry 'bout that.

Very nice, a rather cheeky-looking chap if I may say so.
In terms of crit, obviously it looks a little empty at the moment, but as you said you may be doing a whole scene anyway.
Try adding a little more interest to the texturing of the octopus and plant - just something like clouds or Voronoi mapped to Nor rather than Col, just to give it less of a plastic feel.