I'm sure this has been asked many times before but... Where is the FBX importer?

Hey everyone! I have been working in the video gaming indie scene for a few years now and I have used the FBX exporter extensively. Being able to export rigs and animations directly from blender is a god send but… Where is the importer?

I understand that this is an open source program and making an importer for rigging data and animation must be very difficult, but I just find it odd that we have an exporter and not an importer.

That being said, I have learned to live with it, unfortunately :C

Update to the latest version. 2.69 has an FBX importer.

The FBX support in Blender is totally useless. For example export a camera (static) from Maya to Blender in FBX format, it doesn’t work. As well as many other things. I would rather prefer to have more work on the Alembic format instead of this crappy format. There’s always issues with FBX.

P.S. I still looking for a way to import/export animation camera from one software to another in a decent way, all my tries failed and trust me… I tried a lot of formats.

@SamCameron animation support will be added. But your right, if you need animation support its useless.

The company that funded its development wanted static mesh importing with cycles materials so this is what I worked on first.

If there are bugs, report them in the tracker, I have looked into and fixed many bugs reported in FBX support.

Campbell… even with static camera import doesn’t work. Try to export an static camera from Maya to Blender in FBX… nothing happends.

I don’t think cameras are supported. Just meshes.

I have successfully imported animated cameras and lights from maya using Collada. It’s a bit hit and miss, but it has worked for me in the past.

Well in the notes says that cameras are supported:

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:Ref/Release_Notes/2.69/Addons