Implementing Matte Paintings

Sorry if there is already a Thread like this,

My question is: I am currently working on a scene that has a Matte “textured on to a billboard” ie a plane.
I have found the obvious
that when i render the scene i see a line appear where my sky meets the matte painting, bare in mind i am also using DOV “depth of view” or defocus.
i have also tried to turn down the alpha.

is there any better ways of doing this without billboards, or a way to key out the lines on the edges of the plane billboards?

all your help will be much appreciated

well after searching over google i have found something, of using a “matte/ difference key” Node , if anyone can explain this, i have little knowledge of nodes?

basically i want to get rid of the part of the matte i am not using…

so, in matching up the left edge of the right pic and the right edge of the left pic, there’s a few issues you have to address.

1. Lens distortion. The size of the image will be different, so you have to subdivide the plane and move the three verts to align the pixels from one to another
  2. Exposure. If your camera auto-exposes, the exposure will be different between the two shots. So, take a swatch of each from both near the edge and subtract them on a gray scale (convertBW) to get an overall difference and apply that via the brightness/contrast node