Importing .3ds and .lws into Blender

Hi All -

I am a complete noob with Blender. Currently have 2.49b (I know it is not the latest version but been using it to follow some tutorials with old interface).

Anyway, I want to import two models. The first is a .lws (Lightwave scene?) found here: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/3d_resources/assets/iss-hi-res.html. I do File->Import Lightwave (.lwo) but all I can find is a .lws file in the folders I downloaded. Opening it doesn’t seem to import anywhere.

The second a .3ds found here: http://www.nasa.gov/multimedia/3d_resources/assets/shuttle-hi-res.html

I import it (using File->Import). It imports into the Animation section. Can I use it as a standard model somehow? I want to use to create an educational game so want to import as a model so I can add some ‘intelligence’ to it.

Hope you can help…

I do File->Import Lightwave (.lwo) but all I can find is a .lws file in the folders I downloaded.

Look in the ISS models 2011 / Objects / Modules folder for all the individual .lwo files

I import it (using File->Import). It imports into the Animation section.
Don’t understand what you mean by ‘Animation section’. Import the individual .3ds files. The scale may be all different so you may need to scale them up/down after you have imported then different files.

Lightwave has “Objects” and it has “Scenes”. Objects are only mesh data whereas Scenes contain that data placed together with rigs and animation. Blender can only import Lightwave Objects but not Scenes. You can always freeze your objects in place in Lightwave’s Layout and then import them into Blender. That way they will come in the right place in the scene.

If you have animation in Lightwave, you can bake the points by running Lightwave’s MDD Scan and then save the MDD files to import into Blender. If you do this, don’t bake the object in Layout… just save the lwo and add the MDD. It will pop right into place.