Importing brushes

Hi there :slight_smile:

I’m pretty new to Blender, but with a lot of Experience with Daz products. Switching over to Blender for all the amazing features and starting to get comfortable.

Two questions

1. I’ve downloaded a bunch of brushes for texture painting - they are in .jpg and .png format. According to some tuts, all I need do is put them in a folder, activate the import brushes plugin and import. Problem is, I don’t have an import brushes option under user preferences, addons - or any other function that looks like it could work.

2. Also downloaded some sculpting brushes and Cycles materials - they .blend files. Where do I put them and how do I access them?

Using Blender 2.71 under Win7 64bit

Any help will be greatly appreciated:)

1 Like

UPDATE

OK - found the addon for importing brushes and this works just great :slight_smile:

Found an online library by Peter Cassetta and downloaded that - no instructions on where and how to install - it seems to need an addon to access it, but no amount of searching can find anything from after Blender 2.68. Seems the addon stopped working then.

Can anyone assist here? Please :slight_smile:

The links to the import brushset addon are often down. I keep a copy on dropbox.
Import Brushset on dropbox

Download it. Open blender and go to file,user prefs, add ons, install from file, navigate to the file. The add on should appear, make sure the checkbox next to it is checked. Click save. Close user prefs.

The add on works by importing all images from a directory. I have a directory c:\blender\brushsets in that directory I have sub directories, pores, lips, scales… When I want some brushes I go to file,import,brushset and naviagte to the direcotry I want. Do not select any files, just go the directory and click the button in the upper right ‘import brushset’

The reason to organize your brushes into smaller sub dirs is so that you don’t wind up importing 100 brushes at a time.