Importing SVG and creating a mesh from it

I’m having problem creating an 3D logo from a SVG 2D logo.
I’m really new in blender, but I’m have already used some CAD software and inkScape/vector programs and I just Love Gimp!

I’m using Blender v2.68 on a Win 8 machine.

The problem is that I wanna do some curved shape from an SVG, so I tried using a mesh created from the SVG, but this mesh is completely crazy and unusable.
See, Left Blender, Right InkScape:

This completely “crazy” and “unusable” is one which best suits hardware rendering requirements. Narrow stripes of triangles which help bringing into RAM needed texture parts.

To convert it into something which you can model further use Delete - Limited Dissolve for all selected vertices and then Inset (i) faces to create nice quad outline which helps to hold n-gons. Manually subdivide them where needed after added Subdiv modifier using j on 2 selected vertices or k - Knife tool.

Hmmmm. When I import an SVG it doesn’t look anything like what you have there. I get all bezier curves in Blender, which you can manipulate from the Object Data panel (see screenshot). Did you convert the curves to a mesh after import?

The main reason I convert my curves to a mesh is if I need my imported SVG to bend around a curve or participate in a simulation. Otherwise, Safetyman’s suggesting of leaving it as a renderable curve is a good one.

I often follow up a convert to mesh with a ReMesh modifier on the resulting object. Turn off Remove Disonnected Pieces and turn up the Octree to 6 or 7. Apply the modifier and you will find that your topology is greatly improved. The down side to this technique is that you end up with a much more dense mesh. It really depends upon what your final usage is going to be for your imported SVG.