industrial design

need some help from the industrial design guys here.

I’m an engineering student in vancouver canada, and lately I’ve become interested in industrial design and manufacturing. I’d like to work with metals and plastics, etc to improve some of my engineering projects.

The problem is that my school (sfu) doesn’t offer any machine-shop type programs, and local colleges only offer full-time degree programs.

so… how do I get started in this stuff? I’m reading books, but it’s pretty useless without some hands-on training.

thanks

Jack

You could check and see if any machine shops in your area, have openings for Interns. It is kind of an old school way to learn a trade and I am not certain in today’s lawsuit happy world, if many shops still do this or not.

How can I help you?

I am sure I teach actually what you want to learn :wink:

You may wish to check out this site, links, tabs and all. Then see if you can get a job at a company that uses their systems. I volunteered to come in on my own time to learn. Mind you, this is pretty high end software and equipment to run it. The company said that I could, so I did. (There was no way that I could even afford a seat, around 30K a year, let alone the equipment which our company leased.) The manuals are very large and there was not a structured learning program. I did not learn it all, believe me, it is awesome.
Another thing to consider is maybe trying to get a job in maintenance at such a place. That way you get to know the machine tools and their limitations. You can draw whatever you want, but if the tool can not do what you tell it to do, you are liable to cause a bit of damage.
Cad/Cam applications are also interesting, working with post processing applications and all.
All the above have rather steep learning curves, and then there is the matter of gaining the employer’s trust to let you try.

Good luck!

cekuhnen, I will personally pay for your airfare if you come to vancouver and tutor me :smiley: