Industrial style Loft

Hi, this is my entry for the BG comp.
1000 samples, 10 hour render… PasscombineDeNoiser at the end

I’m a cycles noob so my aim was really to learn the basics and the more complex node stuff. I learned a lot of things… some of which were frustrating. For example I didn’t know that glass bsdf cant have alpha- learned that at the tail end of a 10 hour render.

ps: somebody needs to explain to me what happens when I hit f12… so the image is saved in the buffer? no actual files are saved? how do I automatically save render passes- do I have to do it manually? I’m only asking cause I hit f12, 10 hours later it’s done. I bring it to the compositor. Accidentally clicked something in the image viewer… and everything was gone… so that’s a life lesson for you.

the image above was all based/copied from this. I do not know the person who took the shot so I can’t attribute it. I just took a random photo from the internet for reference.

Wow, really nice and also close to the original. Looks great.

My one comment would be about the white chair on the left. It draws the eye because of its bright colour and it looks a bit out of place with the rest of the scene. Maybe something a bit darker or more textured would help as it looks a bit washed out.

On your question about image saving, I believe one of the output nodes in the compositor is a file output. So you can connect it in the same way as the viewer or composite node, add a file location and I believe it saves the image there as the final stage of compositing. It adds a file name like image001 or something. It helps with those nervous moments after a 10 hour render (or 20 in my case with my tired old computer!) hoping nothing crashes before you can get the thing saved!

Thanks IanA. I agree with the chair. The problem really was my monitor. I changed some setting and the brightness and colors have been off. It looked darker when I previewed it.