Industrial Visualization example... [Updated!]

Here’s the link to the animation:
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/public/LT2K_02a.wmv

(note: sorry for the low rez/low bitrate… server requirements :frowning: … the full quality version (like the images below) is soooo nice! Blender can do such a quality job!)

[Edit2]Here’s a link to a full-quality (divx) version: here (in case anyone “from the future” happens upon this thread… :wink: ) [/Edit2]

and a couple of screenshots:
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/mzungu/LT2K_frm01.thumb.jpg

http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/albums/mzungu/LT2K_frm02.thumb.jpg

(or gallery links if the images don’t work…)
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/view_photo.php?full=1&set_albumName=mzungu&id=LT2K_frm01
http://gallery.mudpuddle.co.nz/view_photo.php?full=1&set_albumName=mzungu&id=LT2K_frm02

(Thanks to AllTaken for the great server resource to Blender users!!!)

This is my first attempt at a “big” animation in Blender. The subject is a piece of equipment designed for my employer five years ago in AutoCAD 2000. I created this animation mostly to demonstrate the commercial visualization capabilities of Blender. I used this machine model only because I thought it provided a visually interesting example, it was readily available, and it was relatively easy to put in motion. I exported the model from AutoCAD to .3ds format and then into Blender with Bob Holcomb’s excellent v0.5 importer.

Because it uses area lights and AO, it took close to 3 weeks to render (dividing it up and running segments overnight and over the weekends on my employer’s workstation.) Thus, even though its a first version and still needs many details and refinements, it may be a while before I’m inspired to improve it and re-render it. I thot I’d put it out there for you all to see and make C&C on. I’ll compile a list of ideas and maybe someday revisit the project.