installing blender on fedora core 1

Hello,

I’m trying to install blender on a pc with linux fedora core 1

the files get expanded, but i’m missing the ‘.blender’ folder en when i double click the blender exe it doesn’t doe anything

if the answer is simple, please excuse me, I’m a total newbee to linux and was allready pretty glad i got it installed with a dual boot (windows and linux)

thanks

As to the missing .Blender folder, it’s probably not missing. Under Linux any file or directory name that starts with a . is a hidden file or directory. Check in your desktop environment for an option to “view hidden files” or something like that. In KDE it’s in the view menu of your file browser (Konqueror). Now you should see it.

Blender executable does nothing. Try from the command line? Open up a teminal in the blender directory and type “blender” (no quotes). If it still doesn’t work I’d download it again. Something may have gotten lost.

ok, i’ll try that

thank you

Have you gotten it to work? I use Linux and blender all the time (and love them both). If you’re still having problems, I would be happy to help…

Chris

thank you chaan for the offer

actually, it seems I may well need your help.

I didnt’t get blender to work yet

I did manage to open a console (eureka) and got some error message

might the glibc version be different?

p.s. I don’t know anything about linux and did get a version of blender working once with redhat linux8 (long long ago)

any help may be helpful, though I can’t get you the error message right away

greets

did you try a static version - it may be a tad slower but should work

hi tmtechie,

yes, I tried both version, but no luck

also, it seems the support for external usb drives is not quite what it should be on fedora.

I installed mepis the other day, and that did recognize my extra usb drive, but mepis didn’t regognize my monitor and videocard (no trouble there on fedora with a little tweaking)