Installing Blender On Linux

I’m new to linux not Blender… I’m running Mandrake 10.0 and I am having a Hell of a time installing Blender due in large part that I Have no Idea what Im doing in Linux. Can someone help? Thanks in advance.

SP

You’ll need to give us a bit more info. If you let us know what type of install you are attempting (source or pre-built) and what sort of errors, if any you are getting, you’ll probably be able to get better help.

If you don’t understand about the difference between source and pre-built, post a link to the page where you downloaded blender from and then it will be much easier to give you a hand.

Hello

Have you an accelerated X server running ( in other words, have you installed the Nvidia, ATi or other 3D graphics card drivers)

If yes, it’s quite easy to install Blender and get it to work perfectly
Download the dynamic version of Blender, uncompress it and place the resultant folder in let’s say, /usr/local/ , make a symbolic link from the Blender executable to /usr/bin/blender, this way you can open a console and type “blender” and get it to run

Is this clear?? I can explain wit more depth
Bye

Wow, I just realized how clueless I am to computers or at least Linux! all of that was sort of Greek. How ever I think I found the answer in the linux forums. I’ll have to get home to see if it works. it goes like this.

Since it was downloaded from Blender3d.com and was gunzipped and tarred

cd /usr/local/src
tar -tzvf …/tar/mypackage-xx.x.tar.gz
tar -xzvf …/tar/mypackage-xx.x.tar.gz

./configure
make
make install
make clean

xmkmf
make
make install

I hope that it works… Thanks to everyone who answered. If this method does not work I’ll give a detailed description of what happened. Thanks again.

Sp

afaik autotools (what does ./configure to make makefiles) doesn’t exist anymore in blender.