Is anyone working on AI and Retopology?

I have googled around and I can’t find much at all about using AI for Retopology.

I am NOT a programmer but I do enjoy watching Python/Tensor Flow tutorials. I just watched the state of AI with Andrew NG, he mentions that AI is currently best suited for things that a human can do with about a second of thought (such as driving).

It seems Retopology would be perfect for this, so why is everyone working on image processing (denoising) with AI and it doesn’t seem anyone is working on Retopology?

Just curious if anyone has any more info on this?

For denoising, the problem is fairly nicely constrained. There is a ‘ground truth’ - a correct output that the AI is aiming for, and you already know things like the output will be an image the same size as the input image. It’s relatively easy to create training data for an AI like this - all you need is a bunch of noisy renders, and then noise-free versions of the same renders (i.e. much more samples).

Retopology is a much less constrained problem. Some elements of the output will be subjective - what direction the edge flow, or what the density of the mesh should be at any given point, for example. It’s not immediately clear what would constitute a good set of training data.

That’s not to say that it wouldn’t be a worthwhile project, but denoising is more of a low-hanging fruit for machine learning.

3 Likes

I’m also eagerly looking forward to the first AI-driven retopology algorithm. If you look at the auto-retopology algorithms of ZBrush and 3D-Coat, an AI / Machine Learning approach should be able to take that a step further.

2 Likes