Is BGE Ever Going to Move Toward PBR?

I ask this as a frustrated intermediate game dev, and I mean no offense by anything I might say here, these are just my thoughts.

I love Blender and all it has to offer, and I have no room to complain about a software that was free, but…

I have been working in the game engine for a few years and have gotten very well versed in GLSL lighting and texturing.
However, I began to look into new texturing software and ended up downloading a beta to the Quixel Suite, which truly opened my eyes to “next-gen” graphics; PBR Shaders. I began wondering, “How can I implement these types of shaders in BGE?” After extensive Google-ing, I came up with the answer: I can’t.

I personally do not have the knowledge or computer power to deal with these shaders on my own, but then I realised, “It’s only a matter of time before Blender’s Game Engine has a system implemented for handling these tasks, right?”

Well, I’m not totally convinced that they ever will, given that Blender is known for its modelling tools and Cycles Render Engine, and not so much for it’s game engine.

Nonetheless, I would be over-the-moon if something like this were to ever be created for us “less talented” game artists.

What do you think about this issue? Do you think they will ever implement a system for handling PBR materials or is it just a hopeless fantasy?

Thanks for reading!

This might be interesting

PBR is on the radar. If I remember correctly, the idea was to use it in the viewport and then maybe using it for the game engine as well.

Well, does using it in viewport mean so in solid mode it will flip from reflection mapped texture(matcap) to a cubemaps? Will it also work as ambient light in viewport?

Try this -> https://cgcookiemarkets.com/blender/all-products/easy-game/