Is Blender 3d a hobby or a job for you?

how many of you Blender artists use blender as a hobby or as a profession? To blender professionals: what is your position specifically? how did you get the job? Do you use Blender at your job or a program similar to it? I am a college student who has been using blender as a hobby for the past 3-4 years. My hobby has grown into what I consider is a valuable skill and would like to hear more about using blender from a professional standpoint.

Blender is a tool not a job. I use Blender in my professional work. I primarily develop e commerce websites, but I do some graphics and logo design. Blender has come in handy quite often in that department. I’ve also done many logo animations for educational videos. Recently I used Blender for some character animation sequences, just the typical corporate mascot stuff you see all over these days. And I have had some arch viz work, but not often enough to consider it a true income stream.

Just knowing Blender isn’t enough, you have to find a niche for yourself either locally or in the online community. It will be hard to find “Blender” work, but quite easy to find design, animation, visual effects work.

3D is part what I do professionally, but not in Blender as of yet. I hope to switch from Maya to Blender later this year though. And nowadays most of what I do is arch wiz (90+%) and then some 2D pixel and/or vector illustrations, motion graphics, compositing and VFX.

Blender today are way more advanced than Softimage were when it was used for the VFX in movies like Starship Troopers. So technically you could do anything in Blender. :slight_smile:

I use Blender as a freelance artist. My clients don’t care what software I use; they just want the finished product.

However, larger firms and studios still tend to favor proprietary apps in their pipeline, so if you want a steady paycheck, it doesn’t hurt to learn Maya, Max, Houdini, etc.

I use Blender for both, hobby and work.