Is Blender the best point to start a new project

Howdy hey there!

My name is Rick, and for the last year I’ve had this idea forming in my brain to make something great, as I’m sure that’s what all who have walked this path have said, but progress is at a standstill as I am not sure where to take the next step. Let me explain things more adequately, my interest pertains to making a non-commercial game. It will pertain to the super hero genre but with a detective and martial artist element thrown into the mix. Sadly, I’m not sure where to start as I have zero experience in this field of game design,modeling, and the such, but it’s a bucket list goal I’d like to see through so the newness of it all is quite overwhelming. It is something I must do or I will be kicking myself till it’s time to give that bucket I mentioned a turn.

What I am asking here; is will someone help to point me in the right direction to make this game a reality? Is Blender the best place to start? Deep apologies if this is in the wrong area but I am in desperate need of guidance.

Thank you for your time.

-WingDingIX

The usual question: what do you mean with “best”?

• Yes, you can use the BGE to develop nearly any game you like.
  • No, the game mechanic does not exist, that you simply add content and press a “make my game” button. You need to develop it by yourself. (If that is what you want look for a level editor of the game of your choice)
  • Yes, the BGE has quite a large userbase and a helpful community.
  • No, the project you are aiming for can’t be finished in a couple of months even by a skilled developer.
  • Yes you need to develop the necessary skills to get an idea what the above statements mean.

I suggest you aim low first. Start and finish a pong game.

You think that is to simple? Proof it with a finished game.
(Btw. I recommend to define " finished" before you start. That way you have objective criterias to tell when it is finished)