Is Blender the right software for me?

Hi,

This is not strictly speaking a python question but I thought I would get the right audience here.

I am a professional programmer and as a hobby I would like to generate ice skating animations based on choreography steps. The idea is to spend minimal time to setup basic poses in a 3D soft, and generate keyframes using python code I’ve already written to do the same in 2D.

I started using Blender, read 2 books and got Poser in Trial version. I feel Blender is great for the scenes / props, and the UI is very quick. But the built-in characters / clothes in Poser seem much more off-the-shelf (except IK which sometimes suck). Also, the camera controls in Poser feel much more natural (i.e. orbital rotations). And the rendering into videos in Poser also seems way faster.

As it stands, I am ok with buying Poser. Python would generate the pose keyframes and I would probably do the camera keyframes manually + I would create my background with Blender.

I am not a pro 3D artist so I am fine with existing Poser characters but should I nevertheless persist and use Blender?

On a related note, it’s a bit annoying that these softs are tied to specific versions of python. I can work around that by using my existing python code (2.7.2) to generate a JSON file that has all the keyframes specified and then having the built-in python version of Blender/Poser read it and have minimal coding logic.

I see that Blender is a general purpose 3D application, while Poser on the other hand is specialized in characters and scenery. So the real deal is that Blender is weak in this specific area but that does not mean that a functionality can’t be added to it (which is extra effort). In the opposite mindset, imagine that if you use Poser and then you suddenly miss out some of Blender features, like procedural animation with Python Drivers.