Is it better to join/combine multiple objects or model it right away in one piece?

hi im still very new to blender, i did a few blender tutorials and now i wanted to practice on doing simple stuff… i thought i would give bart simpson a try and practice without tutorial…

this is how far i got after one hour… but i have a few questions…

for example. the chest and the belly are two objects,
when using the boolean tool to combine them i get one shape but its kind of destroyed on the edges where it connects…would it have been better to do the whole torse part in one part right away???
but even if i would have done the torse in one part i still would need to join/add the legs, arms, heads and stuff.(also shoes and sole, head and eyes)… isnt there a clean way to combine two objects???

also i struggle doing the head , i tried to remodel it but i wasnt able to do a nose or a mouth or ears, i modeld just the head and then added the nose with sculpting, but i would really prefer to get the whole face with modeling done, u can see how dense the mesh is on the head… anybody has some tips on working on small details like mouth nose , ears and stuff? or some good tutorials?

i want to learn how to keep stuff low poly right from the beginning :smiley: i thnk this is the best way to go…

i hope my questions are understable, sorry for the bad english.

thx

You can also ‘join’ meshes instead of using booleans!

As to answer your question, things can exist out of any number of objects in general and there’s no right or wrong way perse. But…

1. a character consisting of many (needless) objects will also have many (needless) textures that you have to set up at some point.
  2. a character consisting of a single object may be hard to modify later on.

So, you’ll have use for a model/character in both states, one ‘finalized’ for easy usage elsewhere but also a copy of what you used to set it up in case you need to change something.