Is it possible to create a working road network that connects objects in Blender?

Hello,

I am new to Blender. I have experience using ArcGIS from school and through work. And some experience with Python.

I am wondering if it is at all possible to create a game in Blender that involves a network that connects objects through which information is exchanged. For example:

A user would create “parcels” that would then be connected to each other through a “road” network that is drawn by the user. Or vice versa, where the “parcels” could be placed by a user along a “road” network that has been drawn by the user.

Each “parcel” would connect to the “road” network at a node at the center of the edge bordering the network. A “residential” type parcel could then search along the “road” network for the closest “commercial” or “industrial” parcel and create a link based on a set of attributes (jobs available, need, etc). If this link is found, a procedural building would be placed on the “parcel.”

Attributes of the “road” network (speed, congestion, width) would determine the time it takes to travel the network from “parcel” to “parcel” along any given path. And, eventually little cars could be shown traveling the network, generated at the nodes that connect “parcels” to “roads.”

This game would be a combination of SimCity, Cities XL, and ArcGIS. I wanted to know if this is possible through Blender, regardless of the amount of time, experience, or people it would take.

If so, are there any good resources I could check out that explain and show examples of how one might start to create such a network through Blender. If not, can anyone recommend an alternative starting point?

Thank you for taking the time to read.

i would try to run a Astar algorithm on the road network, from start to end of the destination.
This would give you a path back. The longer the path is, the longer it takes to reach this. This Value could be used as a quality.