Is it possible to just "lose it?"

I am a musician, and on the side as a hobby i play with blender, but lately, nothing is inspiring me for either, and I was just wondering if it is possible to lose whatever it is that gives us the music/art we create? What do you do to get inspired?

I don’t think so.
Worrying too much about losing it might do it, however.

If you try to hard to “get it back”, you might end up giving more attention to things you normally wouldn’t.
Or sometimes you are stuck with memories of the past and have the belief that you were better at things before.
I try to be natural, and go with the flow.:slight_smile:

Yeah I don’t think it’s possible either, you’re just having a case of writer’s (or modelers or musicians) block. When I need to get inspired, I usually look at (or listen to) the work of others. Hope this helps you out man.

I don’t know, I lost my motivation too.

Trying looking at the works of masters for inspirations. When I meant Masters, I don’t mean masters of Blender. Art, Photography, and maybe even text if that helps. That’s what I usually do.

When I lose motivation, I normally go straight to Andy’s website (www.artificial3d.com) and look at his work, because his ‘genre’ matches my tastes. Else I look at Picasso or Dali’s work.

As a musician, i have more ideas then i do have time. My whole live is an inspiration.
For me, Loosing it means expecting more then I can.
If you push yourself a little, it’s ok, cause you improve, but if you push yourself to hard, you start hating yourself cause you can’t play as good of a solo as Paul Gilbert or Mattias Eklundh can…
Just go with your own flow, the point is making art and having fun. art doesn’t have to be difficult.

If you are a musician, then spend time just “doodling” on a keyboard and do it every day. If you want to do 3D graphics, also at least “doodle” with it every day. Preferably at the same time every day.