is mirroring a grab possible?

ok heres my perdicement i have a model ive been workin on its a human.
heads up i have never used a 3d creation program before 2 days ago
im wondering if its possible to take two groups of similar vertices say as in muscle structure i want both sides to match exactly and ive been doin it in what seems like the hard way moving one group at a time and looking at the other side to see if it almost matches i dont want to do a mirror because i need the other half of the model to make sure it looks right so can you grab two groups on opposite sides and mirror a grab instead? not for all cases i know because for the bottoms of the arms and stuff u can just grab two groups and pull them down and they’ll match but what if your pulling out and left can i have the other side pull out and right at the same time?

when modeling humans or other mirrored objects this is the way you do it:

create a basic shape, but only half of the object [so you’d probably delete part until you had only the left or right half]
exit edit mode
duplicate with alt+d [changes you make in one will apply to the other]
mirror with control+m
[in 2.33 you’ll probably want to turn off double sided in the edit buttons so one doesn’t appear black. in 2.34 you will not have to do this]
select one or the other, and go into edit mode
edit to your liking
to join:
select one, then shift+rmb select the other [make the last one you select the first one you made in 2.33 so the resulting object is not mirrored anymore]
press control+J
enter edit mode
select everything (a key)
recalculate normals (control+n)
press remove doubles (in the W key specials menu, or in edit buttons)
find verts it didn’t join
select each pair, and join with alt+m

There are different ways to go “mirror-modeling”.