Is no undo a religion?

What’s up with that? Isn’t this 2004? And what’s with that no confirmation of save when exiting? Yes I’m new to Blender, but is this all really excusable in this day and age?

It would be nice if there were at least a way to automatically invoke incremetal save at X times. Working in 3D is involving enough, and computers are much better at remembering to do this kind of stuff, especially when the carbon unit is deeply involved in the creation of an object/scene. Learning a new program with no undo and a terminal exit strategy is pretty rough, to say the least. Unfortunately I’m not a programmer or I’d make that priority one here.

Sorry for the rant, and I know this is freeware and all that, but such lack of functions are a bit long in the tooth, don’t you think?

Undo: ALT+U

Auto Save is in User Preferences.

Thanks for your reply. I guess BlenderBase is a bit outdated, which is where I got my info from. From which version on do these functions (ALT-U and automated saves) exist? I have versions 2.03 (which came with the Blender Guide that I’m learning from), 2.25 Publisher, 2.28a, 2.31a and 2.32.

For the purposes of training, I work between 2.03 and 2.25 to follow along with the book. A check over at Blender Base mentioned that there is no undo, and to “Press [F1] [Numpad+] [Enter] to save a NEW version”. Unfortunately when I do that, I get an error message that says it can’t open the file. Apparently the command is reversed to OPEN FILE for some reason.

Thanks again for your reply.

Undo was added in 2.30

You can find more details regarding its use (as well as a few other features) at:

http://www.blender.org/docs/2.30_release/2.30.html

http://www.blender.org/docs/2.30_release/UndoDoc/UndoDoc.html

Also, the key for saving files is [F2] not [F1]; ([F1] = File Open)

to add some info regarding the Alt+U (Undo) and that is it only works during Mesh Edit mode (Mesh select --> TAB-key), and of course, from version 2.30 and up…