Is the information lost during the conversion from RGB24 to YUV444 relevant?

I’m new in 3D animation and I’ve been testing lossless compression schemes to reduce space used storing rendered clips. I’ve noticed Blender outputs a PNG sequence, encoded in RGB, 24 bits per pixel. I’d like to compress the footage using a lossless codec for preservation but during testing I’ve observed that sticking with the RGB colorspace using either FFV1 or libx264rgb would result in files using double of the size than when converting the color information to YUV444p. I’ve read in this thread that this conversion is lossy. I’m not actually sure how relevant this data discarding actually is since most cameras (and as the matter of fact, Blender, when using ffmpeg with H264 codec in lossless mode) actually output video in YUV420p. Also, I wonder if this conversion would cause any side effects when futher editing the clips.

In sum, is the loss of information when transcoding the PNG sequency to YUV444p of any relevant for further modifications or should I stick with the RGB colorspace? And would the profile yuvJ444 profile preserve all the color information?

YUV or YCbCr representation, lets call it luma-chroma, is theoretically lossless, within rounding errors from conversion math. Practically it depends on the bit depth at which math is done and bit depth at which data is stored. Uncompressed 444 should be the same size as RGB, if it is smaller, it is compressed or it is not 444. If you store image at 8bits per channel, deviations from conversion will be bigger than when using higher bit depth etc.