Is There a Polygon Limit for Creating My CGI Character?

Hi everyone,

I have a pretty close to finished character with about 120,000 hair particle strands on my characters heard, and of course eyelashes, eyebrows, and a full beard. Getting my character to even move with this many polygons in the 3D viewport is a little slow sometimes, but with the right settings, it works. Within a few months from now or hopefully less time, I’m planning on creating a very short film (like a minute or less) of my characters face talking. How can I get all these hair particles to move smoothly during the animation and also have the beard move along with my characters’ face during the animation?

Right now my character will not even move with this many hair particles. Do I need to convert the particles to a mesh or is it easier to just keep them as hair particles? I know that CGI films use millions of polygons but I don’t know how they do it. I’m a newbie in this area.

For computer specs, I have an Intel I9, nVidia RTX 2070 Max Q GPU, 64 gb ram and 8 gb of video memory (I hope this is enough to accomplish this).

Thanks in advance

Well I think it’s one of those things that just depends on your model and how your using it. But I’m pretty sure blender has a technical limit of 10 million particles, so I would assume this can be done without a problem. Render times will probably be your biggest problem. In terms of stability and control, concerting to a mesh may be easier, but again, it all depends.

In short, you can do it, but be careful of how many other things your including in your scenes.

EDIT: I think I remember hearing that using hair children helps with stability. Maybe look into that if you’re not using it.

1 Like