Is this possible, making an added object's mesh datablock unique per-instance (2.57)?

I ask this because I had the idea of using the vertex proxy module to move verticies a random amount if there’s a certain amount of color in a vertex, there’s two problems I’ve run into.

To start, I got this script to work for one mesh object and one material, now do note while reading the rest of the thread that this is my first time using the vertex proxy module for something other than simple tests.

import GameLogic

con = GameLogic.getCurrentController()
ob = con.owner

mesh = ob.meshes[0]

mats = mesh.numMaterials

length = mesh.getVertexArrayLength(0)
for array in range(0, length):

vert = mesh.getVertex(0,array)
    col = vert.color

if col[0] > 0.5:
        float = GameLogic.getRandomFloat()
        vert.z += float-0.25
    else:
        float = 0
        vert.z += float

if array >= length-1:
        ob.reinstancePhysicsMesh(ob, mesh)
        ob.state = 2

The first problem is that I’ve tried for most of the afternoon to get this working with verticies that have more than one material, however, getting it to work as-per the script above was the easy part, it was a lot trickier than I anticipated to get it to loop through all the verticies in all the materials and then stop the script’s execution by changing the object’s state (and to note, I did look at the blender.org documentation where there was an example, but didn’t help much). So how would I change this script to work with more than one material channel?