is this possible? (set velocity no keyframing)

Been digging around trying to figure this out, but maybe I should make sure it’s even possible before continuing. Keep in mind I’m a python newbie.

What I want to do is set an object’s velocity with python/drivers so that when rendering with motion blur in cycles the object appears to be moving, and doing this all via coding ie no keyframes.

Is this possible?

Do you mean that you don’t want it to move at all, just use velocity for motion blur… or that you want motion, just not by using keyframes?

Especielly if you’re a python newbie, the potential to make your life easier seems pretty low.
But you can type expressions directly into keyframe fields to quickly create drivers.
For example, in X location: “#frame * 1.2”.

Thanks for the tip on typing expressions into fields, didn’t know that.

this, yes. Ultimately my goal is to be able to render a turntable of an object in mid motion. What I could do is render a frame, move the camera, render and repeat (I would be rendering the same frame number over and over since I want to render the object at a specific time.) I was hoping to be able to tell blender that this object has a certain velocity in some direction, then no matter what frame I’m on it will render the same motion blur, that way I can animate the camera without keyframing the object. Think of bullet time but rendering the motion blur too. It’s hard to describe but hope that makes sense.

Here are some examples maybe they can illustrate what I’m trying to do.
I have a monkey head which is moving along the z axis, the current frame is currently between those two keyframes.