Issues for a Beginner

I am new to Blender, Using Ubuntu 13.04 OS and the available Blender 2.66a from the Ubuntu Package Repository.

First issue: I am having is periodically crashing. I am unsure if this is an Ubuntu Problem, or Blender issue.
I have Crashing issues with other programs after they perform a specific task, but Blender Crashes anywhere from 5 seconds to 30 minutes after Opening.

Second Issue: I have watched the CGCookie 6 part Beginner series, and I beleive I understood what it explained and Demonstrated.

I have watched Blender tutorial videos from variety of people on Youtube. In all of these videos, if they are doing an Area Select for a group of Faces/Edge/Vertices on a single object, for example: intending to flatten the bottom of the object The get a geometric Area select Start at point A drag across to Point B and down to Point C, Select within a Square…Or A diagonal to B, select within a square/rectangle off of those two points…

When I try to do this same Function, I get a free select, I have the straight line from point A to B… but my exact trail is marked regardless how jagged it is… What am I doing wrong?

Hello
I’ve been using Linux (Debian)/Blender for many years now, and Blender have “crashed” some times and Debian…well, two or three times!
You must check your system!
Anyway you can try/download the current Blender version ( 2.68) and try it, no need to install, just click the blender icon in the new folder.
Bye

And any answer to the Select?

Update on the select, Right Click to select: I can’t simply select the nearest face/edge/vertices… the program wants to reach through and select areas I don’t want to select…

Hello again
I guess that’s better that you “reset” your blender configuration with “Load Factory Settings” in the File menu?
Then, you could select any point/edge/face with RightMouseClick