items from blender render system could be used in BGE

so ive noticed graphics cards have been getting powerfull and ive been using blender for 5 years now. most of the stuff ive seen in the blender rendering system have been used in other game engines. now i may not be a hardware proffesional or skilled at programing. (as you can see i cant even spell without a spellcheck) but i do know is 3d games take alot of math, and the more math it has to do, the more computer power it takes. so even though we have good hardware/skilled people to program this app. why havn’t we merged the rendering system with the game engine. i would love to talk about this more since im intruigued on making blender better.

I think that the main reason that development SEEMS slow, is that many of the developers are volunteers (For the game engine mainly).
The candy branch is sort of a preview of things to come to the blender game engine, and there is some amazing progress there. (SSAO etc.) Overall I think that blenders graphics are weak because the user is “weak” While the game engine may not have the raw power of many commercial game engines (Cry engine, UDK) It is open source, and vastly powerful when compared to open source engines. And then there is the fact that blender has the molding and animation all built into the same program, which really speeds up development.

To get games with better graphics, it may be better to take the graphics abilities that the game engine has, and add them to the GUI.
i.e bloom filters, and lens flare added to the “2d filter” actuator.

I’m ranting now, so I must stop before i’m up all night :slight_smile:

-Kendrick

I actually found in the realease notes for 2.64 they had a shadow casting mechanic that they added. I’m still trying to find it though because I can only make the game receive shadows from the light instead of the objects getting shadows from the light source and objects