Jeff's Sketchbook Thread.

Hi,
I got the lastest issue of ImagineFX and it inspired me to try some digital painting. I am no where near as good as the artist in the mag, but it was fun. This is a creature I tried to paint. I am not sure what to do for the background or to scrap it and just try another one. Might be easier to do one with the creature in an enviroment. Any ideas for the background? As you can probably tell I am new to digital painting. lol

You are onto a brilliant start in my opinion. What I like about your image is how you added your own personality to this with the array of colours and your own flamboyant brush stroke. Regarding the background/foreground, the creature appears to be between at least two sources of light . . . so a waterfall/or water related is in order, and the emotionally charged expression desires some dramatic event. And just to contradict what I advised . . . I think you should leave this as it is . . . and make another composition, this time let the whole image come from your minds eye. Sometimes this approach works better for me, although I lack the technicity to bring my creations exact to as I viewed it . . . then neither did Da Vinci.

Thanks for the reply. He is suppose to be that kind of bluish color and I did the red thinking there would be like a fire or something on that side of him to illuminate him. I was also hoping the red would help that arm come forward a little because it is a warm color. It is hard to tell in that picture but his arms are suppose to be long. He is suppose to be lanky. He is sort of based off of one of the angels from Evangelion, but it has been awhile since I have seen it though.

Great job. Your creatures looks tortured, but has a dreamy impressionistic feel as well.

Well done.

Terry