Jewel designer try to switch RhinoGold / Keynote to blender 2.8

Hi,
As a jewel Designer, I am modeling on RhinoGold and Rendering to Keynote. I 'd like to do all of this on Blender 2.8 (and convert french designer too :wink:
The modeling is just awesome (thanks to Mikhail Rachinskiy for his powerful Jewel Add-on : JewelCraft), but my renders are ugly in cycles.

I’d like to get this render:
My questions :

• in 2.79, i was using render layers to separate ‘grey’ background to my jewels. I dont how to do this in 2.8. tutoriel link : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GsqAUusmbQQ
  • Is it better to get a black environnement color or use “environement texture” ?
    This is my scene : http://pasteall.org/blend/index.php?id=51351 with 2 simple rings. I’d like to have the same angle product for all my renders, that why the rings are at the same place (in different collections"
  • Could you help me to modify my ‘studio’ scene to get a better result ?
1 Like

Make sure the color is set to 100% white, I think the default is around 90%.
A bright studio environment map will be a good idea, you can then increase the strength of this to make the scene brighter from the world panel.
You will also want to increase the focal length to flatten the image and stop warping the center. Maybe 80mm? Also in the scene settings mess around with the color management / exposure until you get something you are happy with.

1 Like

The thing with 2.80 is: Filmic is the new Default for “View Transform”! Set it to Default and you’re back on your track. :wink:
Oh, and “Color Management” is now stacked under “Render” properties, but still applies to whole scene and not just the Render output. :roll_eyes:
Whoever thought it’s a smart move, is just adding to confusion…

e.g.

This is a bad solution. The reason it looks more contrasted is because you are destroying the dynamic range which means more risk of blown out features or too dark areas.