joining parts

(Scott) #1

I’m a newbie and I’m trying to do the winter scene. When I try to join the nose to the snowman it doesn’t want to attach, I’ve tried in both edit and object mode. I’ve selected the snowman body, clicked on ctrl+j, when I go into front view the nose is of to the right. Is the way it is suppose to be? Am I missing something in the tuturiol?
Blender will be a blast once I get some of this things down.
Thanks Scott

(nehpets) #2

you need to post questions in the “Blender General” forum.

(PhSuprtonic) #3

You have to be in Object mode, not edit mode, for sure. Right click on the first object, then hold down shift and right-click on the other object you want to join. Then press Ctrl-J, and click or press enter to confirm.

(Duoas) #4

Don’t spam forums. Choose one and post there only. If you chose poorly all is not lost, a moderator will move it to the proper forum.

It takes a little time to get used to Blender’s interface. If you haven’t already, you might want to take a look through the Blender Hotkey Reference and make a note of keys you think you’ll find handy, and when they’re applicable.

Good luck.

(Scott) #5

Here is the man on the winter scene nose.
Step 4 - Now, let’s create his face. Stay in the front view, press the space bar and choose Add > Mesh > Cone. Switch to the side view (3 on numpad). The cone is going to be the nose and, as you can see, it’s much too big. Deselect all the points by pressing the A key. Then select only the points on the right (the base of the cone). Press the S key and decrease the size of the base of the cone. Switch to the object mode (Tab), and press the S key to decrease the size of the “nose” of the snowman. Then place the nose (G) onto the face of the snowman.