Joining several rigs and objects

Hy there,

I am pretty new with blender and presently working on a octopus model. I modeled the tentacle seperatly and did all the rigging and weight painting. The tentacle and all the details are doing very well.
Then I copied the tentacle 7 times with all the bones and rigging. I placed it perfectly below the head.
Every tentacle riging was still fine.
As I wanted that the entire octpous to be a single model, I tried to join all the arms together with the head. This is also necessary for the rig, to move the conecting parts between the tentacles and the head as well.
As soon as I join the parts, all the rigging and weight painting is messed up. The bones are moving parts of other tentacles and stuff like that. They didn´t do that just before the joining.
I don´t now how to solve this issue.
As I didn´t know how to explain this problem for the search-function I try to find a specific answer here.

Thank you very much for any suggestions.

Best regards,

Jochen

Then I copied the tentacle 7 times with all the bones and rigging.

Those 7 copies, do they have unique bone names? Check that. And when you join those rigs, you need to manually parent them correctly as well. Did you?

Hy,

I have 8 armatures, each of the has 26 bones. So presently I have 8 seperate objects which all work fine for themself.

Thanks a lot for your reply

Jochen