Joining Subdivided Faces (Removing Dividing Edges)

Let’s say I have a cube which has been subdivided once, but I want one of the faces to not have a division. There is only a single dividing edge across the center of the face. How could I remove this edge and make the face not be subdivided, but leave the rest of the cube unchanged since the subdivision?

Subdivided Face:

|______|______|

Desired Result:

|_____________|

you could just make a new cube:eyebrowlift2:

I’m still pretty new to this as well but if I’m wrong someone will correct me. Since ever side of the cube is connected and every side is subdived, every side attached to the one side you want to join, that means that technically you will have 8 sides along that square. But you want to have only 4, so thats means that you would have to be joining 4 sides to 8 which is impossible (need less to say). The only way I could see of doing this would be to have your subdivided cube with the one side you want as a whole as a seperate object and then parent them together. Although a question before you try this. Why do you need it as a whole? Or why can’t you just leave it subdivided?

The cube is only an example. What I’m trying to do involves a complex object, which I used loop subdivide on. I wanted ten divisions along its X axis, six along its Y axis, and zero along its Z. Unfortunately, a side-effect to using subdivide in such a way is that I get ten on all three axes, and I need to turn a 1.0u tall face (with ten divisions and no internal vertices) into a 0.05u tall face. The number of divisions required doesn’t matter, but it seems horribly inefficient to bring the ten divisions and the top edge down one by one.

Is it even possible to do something like this?

You can delete edge loops. I think this is what you want:

http://blenderartists.org/forum/showthread.php?t=112703