Just for fun.

Just made a Gimp sketch and later colored it.

Be aware, this is my first attempt to sketch with Gimp.
Only used it so far for making textures for Blender.
Before this I just used pencil and paper to sketch.

Hope you like it.

/uploads/default/original/3X/e/f/ef2e4fdfdff83ecb1aed4f369cd70847ee55a150.pngstc=1&d=1150030458
/uploads/default/original/3X/a/3/a350bab81a7dda897ecff8a5f659d7e0f5adac76.pngstc=1&d=1150030557

Attachments

Looks cool! Don’t understand how people can make that kind of stuff in the gimp! very very nice :smiley:

Btw, can u say “just for fun”?? Would’t it be more correct to say “Just for kix”?? just somthing a english guy told me for a long time ago… :wink:

very good, what tools do you use? do you use a tablet?
I only have my good old mouse, and I use the (airbrush? whatever it’s called). to rough then sharpen with brush (marker? I never remember tool names)
anyway,heres what mine look like without sharpening (sorry dont mean to hijak or anything).

how did you color it?

amazing work

Thanks for the kind comments.

I love The Gimp! It hasn’t everything PS has but for me it’s ok. Besides PS is a resource hog. I tried Gimp within Windows for a while but I was not pleased with it, but now I only use it with Debian/Linux and and it’s a great tool and it works much smoother in Linux. Just for kix!

I use a simple Graphire Wacom. It took a while to get used to, but I can’t miss it anymore. For example this image took me 30 seconds to make as fast sketch, just as fast as pencil and paper. Finishing did take more time.:wink:

I did the coloring with the Levels and Curves tools. I learned this from a Pro illustrator. This way you can work fast and experiment with colors and saturation, etc. Try it! I used the pen at last for retouching the colors.

Still I am for from pleased with the image, but it was only done to experiment with my tablet and Gimp.

what’s gimp? (im an idiot…)