K-key highlighting objects at different keyframes and then G-grabbing them in v2.46

Hello

I am new to Blender and so hope I am using the right terminology to describe my problem! Hence my rather lengthy description for a small problem!!!:

I am using Blender 2.46 and I keep not being able to do things that tutorials and books say that I should be able to do! I think these must have been written for earlier versions. Is there a lot of difference between the different versions?

I keep trying to do some very basic keyframe animations. I have had an object (e.g. a camera or sphere) moving/rotating around a central object (I will describe it as a ‘camera’ here as to aid my description).

I have keys (LocRot) inserted at keyframes 1,30, 60, 90 and 120. In my description I am at keyframe 120. Apparently I am supposed to be able to press the K-key (which shows the camera’s position/rotation at the different keyframes in yellow) and then be able to G-grab the highlighted camera for this 120 keyframe (in pink) and reposition it to where I want in relation to the other cameras showing in yellow.

HOWEVER, when I press the G-grab key, all the cameras ( yellow and pink) turn white and move together…the only way I can get only the desired one to move is to press the K-key again to hide the yellow cameras (but then I can’t see where the other cameras are!)… I also tried inserting a new keyframe (I>LocRot) at 120 and then G-grabbing, but the same thing happens.

I have tried various basic animations and keep getting stuck at this same point.
Can someone please advise me how to have the cameras showing in yellow (by pressing the K-key) and then just moving one of them without the rest moving as well.

Hope my post makes sense!
Many Thanks :slight_smile:
Husky :stuck_out_tongue: