"Karaoke" Clip

So I was studying from the CG Cookie Blender Animation Toolkit for over a week and a half because I wanted to improve on my animation skills. So I use a model that I already have set up and tried it out on the character that I created. I’ve watched this thing over 10 times and I feel that there may be something wrong with it. So I want your thoughts on the video. What I need to do to improve this. I can deal with the other movements later, but my main concern is with the lip sync.

Look like you got the timing and keyframing down pretty good. I’ll be the first to say that I’m no expert on this matter. I can say that in attempting lip syncing myself however; a few things that gave me issues that I think I see in you animation as well are as follows:

1. A constant movement of the mouth between syllables in an almost machine like manner. When we speak, if there is emphasis on a word or syllable, there is a slight pause in the movement of our mouths, a slight timing hold before moving on to the next syllable. If you were to look in the mirror and sing the song you have there, you’lll notice the pause in movement that I’m speaking of If you are animating from keyframe to keyframe, it might help to extend some of the keyframes beyond their initial points to memic this slight pause.

2. Shape keys can sometimes throw your lipsync attempt if there isn’t enough variation in your shapes. I’m assuming that you were going for something subtle, but much like other areas of animation, in some instances, exaggeration helps.

3. An alternative to the keyframe streatch method I mentioned above in #1 you could also try closing his mouth between syllables, or a combination, whatever seems to work best for you.