Katana

Hello everyone,

I tried to make this as much realistic as possible.
But I think the materials and the lightning are my weak point, something look off and i can’t put my finger on what.

And as I’m running out of ideas, I thought that you could give me advises.
Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

First off I’m fairly certain that the sword is upside down. Like this.

Personally I’d make the stand bigger as well.

I can’t comment on the materials without knowing more about how you created them.

I’m not an expert on lighting by any means, but something I notice is that at the base of the stand you can’t see any contact shadows, so it looks like it floating. Try adding a rim light above and behind your model to try and solidify that interaction with the floor.

Keep it up!

Here is a similar project I worked on a few years ago.
https://www.artstation.com/artwork/rnm0O

1 Like

Metal is hard to light. I would suggest using hdri lighting if you aren’t already. The right one will show the good and the bad.

1 Like

I’m pretty sure the steel material is way too rough. With real katanas both sides of the hamon are finely polished.
I’m no metal expert (but I might have one to ask), so I don’t know myself in which way hardened and unhardened steel should differ, but both should show little roughness.

Scratches might be okay, depending on the look you aim for, although likely no self-respecting samurai would carry one looking like that :smile: If you buy a decent one, it will be polished to perfection (aka the most boring node material one can create).

Also the hamon line usually has larger variations in height.

1 Like

Back at it,

Blendit_Josiah, wow your render is awesome !
I followed your advice and turned the katana upside down (didn’t scaled up the support though ^^’ )
I already had a rim light, but I gave it more importance and reduced other light sources.