Knee bending problems with human character

Hello blender community,

I’m making a human character model for animations. I did the Blender Guru tutorial: Character Rigging by Lee Salvemini. It’s a very good and clear tutorial, but I encountered one problem. I completed the entire character with bone constraints, Inverse Kinematics and pole targets. My problem is in the knees, when rotating my roll.main (this controls the rotation of the foot and heel) instead of bending forwards my knee is going outwards [see attached image].

I think it has something to do with either my bone constraints or the roll of one of my bones. I tried to go back and see what I did wrong here, but I’m fairly new in Blender so maybe someone encountered kind of the same problem? I searched the forum for equivalent problems, but it seams my character looks a bit more complicated than most.

I would appreciate if someone has an idea or can refer me to a solution. I have attached my character model for helping purposes. (the bones become visible when you turn on the last layer in the bones layers)

Attachments

20160705_character_rigged.blend (1.77 MB)

I have never personally worked with this sort of rigging, however, I suggest using armature (bones) whenever you work with human-like figures.

The same character, rigged with armature:
charArmature.blend (1.51 MB)

Adjust the Pole Angle on the shin bone IK modifier whilst in Pose mode. This bone is hidden and is on a bone layer, bone layer 15. (Top Right Bone Layer)

-40 looks about right. Also, your pole target is pretty close to your mesh, move it farther away so as not to confuse the Ik Solver!

You need to lock the IK rotation on the shin bone so that the knee only rotates on the X axis.